MINUTES UNIVERSITY SENATE COUCIL 19 December 2002

The Senate Council met at 10:00 a.m. in the Keeneland Room, W.T. Young Library and took the following actions:

- Call to Order and declaration of a guorum: 10:13 a.m. 1.
- 2. Introductions and Announcement: Guests were welcomed and introduced: Sheldon Steiner (A&S), Samuel Jasper (Dentistry), Otto J. Hahn (Engineering), Kathleen Chard (Education), Ruth Staten (Nursing), Z. Govindarajulu (A&S), Davy Jones (Grad School), Ernie Yanarella (A&S), Kathi Kern (A&S). The Chair announced the recently posted job opening for a President's Chief of Staff. The Chair read the job description and noted the final date for submitting
 - applications.
- 3. Senate Council Elections for Chair-elect and Vice Chair-elect

Following extensive discussion with participation by contributions from each of the guests supportive of re-election of Jeff Dembo, motion was made [Tagavi] to nominate Jeff Dembo as the next Senate Council Chair. Motion was seconded [Bailey] and passed. The Chair commented that his platform would emphasize nontenured faculty, students, education, and shared governance.

On motion by Bailey and second by Debski, Lee Edgerton was nominated for the position of Vice Chair-elect. Discussion followed during which Professor Edgerton summarized the printed comments he had handed out at the beginning of the meeting.

Motion was made and seconded [Tagavi; Saunier] to close nominations. Motion passed.

Motion to elect Lee Edgerton Vice Chair passed.

Motion was made that it be a priority of the Senate Council to hold officer elections the first Monday in December. [Saunier; Tagavi]. Motion passed.

It was suggested that a note be sent out to inform the faculty of this priority.

4. Senate Council committee nominations and reporting process: Professor Tagavi The motion was amended to clarify the wording by the mover [Tagavi] and accepted as friendly by the seconded[Bailey]. The motion as clarified reads: When the Senate Council is asked to provide names for faculty participation on committees, the following procedures shall be followed:

After receiving the request, the Chair inquires as to the (approximate) number of slots to be filled as a result of this input.

The Chair/SC after consultation with the Senate and/or other constituencies (as appropriate and if time permits) arrives at a pool of potential candidates.

The Chair, or his/her designee, finds out if those on the list are willing to serve.

The Chair then submits the names.

After the committee is formed, the Chair, or his/her designee, would report back to the council on

5.a. How many of the suggested candidates were chosen to serve.

5.b. The nature and make-up of the composition of the committee, e.g. how many students, faculty, staff, administrators, etc.

The above (#5) will be recorded in the SC minutes.

The motion passed.

A brief report from the Chair followed, to wit:

<u>A&S Dean's Search</u> Twelve (12) names were submitted Two (2) were chosen from the twelve submitted There are sixteeen members of the committee -9 of whom are faculty

Dentistry Dean's Search

Eleven (11) faculty were submitted by the two departments Four (4) persons were selected from the list of eleven There are thirteen members on the committee - 6 of whom are faculty from Dentistry and 2 of whom are faculty from outside Dentistry

<u>University of Kentucky Strategic Plan: Academic Subcommittee</u> Two (2) names were submitted, and two (2) names were selected.

- <u>CHE 199 new course offered on a pass/fail basis</u>
 On motion by Tagavi and second by Saunier, the course was approved as submitted. It will be transmitted to the Senate on a ten day circular.
- 7. <u>#916 Academic Ombud Search Committee</u>

The Chair read the Rules relating to the process and the Senate Council nominated Kathleen Chard, Education, and Charles Coulston, LCC. The Chair will contact the Provost to request a faculty name to serve as Chair of the Committee. The Council Chair may remind the Provost of former Ombuds but is not to recommend a name to the Provost.

- <u>Resolution from the 11 November 2002 Senate meeting</u>
 The Chair distributed a copy of the resolution passed by the Senate on 11 November.
- Senate Council Minutes: 16 December 2002
 On motion by Tagavi and second by Bailey, the minutes were approved as amended.
- 10. <u>Announcements</u>

a. The Chair announced that the CPE meeting on Wednesday to interview the presidential candidates went well. Both candidates were impressive. The COSFL group was successful in providing input. The announcement of the selection is anticipated later in the day.

- b. Faculty Trustee election ballots will be talleyed on Friday at 10:00 a.m.
- c. Ballots for the Senate Council election will be counted on Monday the 23rd at 1:30 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 12:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeffrey Dembo Chair, Senate Council

Present: Bailey, Tagavi, Dembo, Waldhart, Debski, Edgerton, Saunier, and guests D. Jones, E. Yanarella, K. Chard, Z. Govindarajulu, R. Staten, O.J. Hahn, K. Kern, and S. Jasper

SC Min 12.19.02